What is a short stay? [fr]

What is a short stay?

This visa is evidenced by the affixing of a sticker on a passport, a travel document or other valid document permitting the crossing of the border.

Unless it is specifically mentioned on the sticker, the holder of a Schengen visa may enter the territory of the Schengen area (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland), subject to fulfilling the other conditions of entry (proof of the reason and conditions of stay: resources, accommodation).

In addition, the holder of a Schengen Visa may also enter the territory of Monaco, Andorra, San Marino, the Vatican and Liechtenstein.

The short-stay visa (type "C")

A short-stay visa allows visa-travelers to enter the territory of one or more of the Schengen States with a view to an uninterrupted stay or several consecutive stays, the total duration of which does not exceed 90 days per period of 180 days in the Schengen area.

The short stay visa is issued for one or more entries.

Dernière modification : 07/02/2017

top of the page